The new composition of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) was formed with effect from 1 October 2020. COSH welcomes the appointment of Mr Henry TONG Sau-chai, MH, JP as new Chairman and the five new Council Members. Mr Henry TONG has extensive experiences in education & social services. He has been committed to protecting the health of next generation from tobacco hazards and uniting the parents and education sector to support local tobacco control policies.
“I would like to express my deep appreciation to the outgoing Chairman, Mr Antonio KWONG cho-shing, MH for his exemplary contribution to COSH and tobacco control works in the past decade which takes the local tobacco control development steadily to a new height, particularly in smoke-free education, publicity and successful implementation of several tobacco control measures. With the diverse expertise and experiences of all Council Members, I hope to lead COSH in fostering social cohesion to step up the tobacco control policies at all fronts. Advocacy for a substantial tobacco tax hike and resumption of the legislation work to enact a total ban in alternative smoking products topped COSH’s priority to accelerate smoking reduction, in moving towards the Tobacco Endgame goal and safeguard public health.” said Mr Henry TONG, COSH Chairman.
Notwithstanding the challenges ahead in tobacco control, COSH reaffirms the mission to protect public health in Hong Kong. COSH will continue to strengthen the education and publicity, increase health consciousness and public awareness on virus prevention to fight against the Coronavirus Disease 2019 in joint hands. To further reduce the smoking population, COSH advocates the Government to develop blueprint and time schedule for Tobacco Endgame, also put forward comprehensive measures including a tobacco tax hike and a total ban on alternative smoking products, to motivate more smokers to quit and prevent smoking uptakes especially among children and youth, in order to reach the target of 7.8% smoking rate by 2025 in “Towards 2025: Strategy and Action Plan to Prevent and Control Non-communicable Diseases” for a smoke-free Hong Kong.
The five newly appointed members are COSH Vice-chairman, Dr Johnnie Casire CHAN Chi-kau, BBS, JP and Members Mr Langton CHEUNG Yung-pong, MH, Mr Clement FUNG Cheuk-nang, MH, Ms Sharmila GURUNG, MH and Prof Phoenix MO Kit-han.

Chinese Association on Tobacco Control Copyright © 1992-2011
  906-907 Anhuidongli, Chaoyang District Beijing 100101

Tel: (8610)64983905  Fax: (8610)64983805     Email: