In the United States:
• 22 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico have passed smoke-free laws that cover restaurants and bars. The states are Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland (Feb. 1, 2008), Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana (extends to bars Sept. 1, 2009), New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon (Jan. 1, 2009), Rhode Island, Utah (extends to bars Jan. 7, 2009), Vermont and Washington.
• Four other states—Florida, Idaho, Louisiana and Nevada—have smoke-free laws that cover restaurants but exempt stand-alone bars.
• Hundreds of cities and counties across the country have also taken action
Internationally, a growing number of countries have enacted nationwide smoke-free laws.  These include Bermuda, Bhutan, England, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, Uruguay and Wales. Most Canadian provinces/territories and Australian states/territories have also enacted such laws.


Chinese Association on Tobacco Control Copyright © 1992-2011
  906-907 Anhuidongli, Chaoyang District Beijing 100101

Tel: (8610)64983905  Fax: (8610)64983805     Email: